Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-08-23 - 2:33 p.m.

As I walked by the bathroom yesterday my daughter yelled at me.

"MOM! I NEED MY PRIBACY!!"

I'm like "dude, close the door if you want privacy! You can't poop with the door open and then yell at people who happen to walk by!"


She is 3 1/2


And she was paging through my US Weekly almost as intently as I do when I'm.. Cough.. reading it in the bathroom. When she finished in the bathroom she came out holding the magazine..


"Mommy, what is wrong with this girl?" (pointing at Nicole Richie's 85lb body)


"Honey, she doesn't eat enough food so she is very skinny and not very healthy. That is why it's important to eat healthy so your body and your brain can be strong"


"What does she not eat enough food?"


Oh God. I'm not sure how to explain this one, but at the same time I hate BS'ing my daughter especially about things like this where there is actually a good lesson. Unlike other times where I tell her that I'll be back in a few minutes but I go to the gym and come back 2 hours later.


So I start explaining..


"Honey, sometimes girls think that their body isn't pretty unless it's very skinny. And sometimes they don't really know what they look like because their brain is all screwy because they don't eat enough... Vegetables! Yes, that is why it's so important to eat vegetables"


"Why do they think that is pretty mommy? I think it looks ugly"


"Well sweatheart, sometimes girls will see movies or people in magazines and they think they need to look like them to be beautiful but they are wrong honey, because what is most important is that you are healthy and strong."


"I'm strong mommy" flexing her bicep

mommy squeezing teeny tiny bicep

"See Lucy! You GET IT girlfriend!! You are such a smartypants!!"


"Mommy, can we have broccoli for dinner?!"

Andthatiswhatwedid!


0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!