Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-04-25 - 10:37 a.m.

It was a gloomy ride in on the blue line today. Cold, windy and rainy.


As I was nearing my stop I noticed a young latino male. He had a shaved head and was sporting a hooded �Sean John� sweatshirt with the hood pulled up. He was also donning grey sweatpants and brand new looking Air Jordans. I noticed a tattoo on his neck.


Surprisingly his accessories were heartwarming PINK in color.


Crossed over his body was a pink diaper bag and on the other side of his body he was lovingly holding a 2 year old girl, also clad in pink.


One of her shoes was untied. I looked on as he made bunny ears out of the laces and re-tied them.


I thought only kids did the bunny ear tie, but as it turns out.. gangbanger looking fathers do as well. He then handed her a puffy Cheeto.


What astounded me (and I feel sort of guilty racist for being so surprised by it) was how loving and tending he was towards her. Love for his daughter just oozed out of him.


Suddenly I felt verclempt.
Funny that spellcheck is picking up the word verclempt and suggests that I might be trying to spell Over Slept.

As we stand up to get off at our stop, the little girl lays her head on her dad�s shoulder and wraps her arms around his neck.


I feel a lump in my throat and decide that there is all kinds of love in the world.. Sometimes you just have look in places, like a hooded Sean John sweatshirt to find it..

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!