Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-29 - 8:31 a.m.

Last night I went over to Kaki's (Kaki321) house and she and Miles were watching the newest Star Trek season "that just came out on DVD!". So I wonder back into their kitchen and poor myself a glass of wine. Pinot Grigio to be exact, you know, what all the white suburban moms drink. Anyway, so I plop down next to Kaki and start watching. Big Screen, Surround Sound (loud), a big change from my house with the 30 year old, surround sound non existing, wiggles watching tv. So I watch, sip, watch, sip, chat to Kaki, eat some cheese curds, watch, sip...And then I start actually following it and I'm amazed that I'm not yelling out "this is crap" instead I yell out "THE CAPTAIN IS TRYING TO MANIPULATE THE BORG!!" and I was dead serious and I became very frightened of myself at that moment. And then Kaki starts laughing and imitating my yelling out about the Captain & The Borg. "THE CAPTAIN IS TRYING TO MANIPULATE THE BORG!! HA HA HA!!!"

Well then it's 9:10 and I sort of panic because NYPD Blue is on and it's the 2nd episode of the last season. So I go home and RG and I watch that.

So I'm "working from home" again today and to my surprise New Bossy Pants has actually sent me something to work on. A Peoplesoft Technical Architect - Whoo Hoo! Let me just go find one of those real quick. So, I'm taking a run at that today and tomorrow will be my first day at the office. I hope I don't get screwed with some badly positioned cube or desk out in the middle of a room. I think it's a loft space but I'm not sure how it's going to be set up. My main fear is that my computer will be set up so that people will be able to see me fucking around on the computer and will therefor know that the clack clickety clack of the keyboard isn't actually me working.

Pinky thinks to herself *Jbird, Please hook Pinky up with a nice little corner office at the new job, amen*

Lucy is talking up a storm. This morning I grabbed her out of her crib and brought her into cuddle in my bed. She watched Boobah while I tried to wake up and got huggy on her. What actually woke me up is that her diaper was really wet and therefore the smell of urine was very strong. She pats the bed and says "Dukie Uppies", meaning she wants the dog to get on the bed, and he jumps up and she giggles. Then "Iwannagodownstairs", so we do, and she says "Iwantcakies" which means whe wants me to make her pancakes, which I did. After she eats her cakies she turns on the stereo which is on a shelf within her reach if she's standing in her highchair facing backwards and tells me "Iwannadance".. so she dances in her highchair and I danced around in front of her holding her hands. And finially, "Iwantdownies".
It is all so very cool watching her turn into a little person. She's going from a baby to a kid right now (19 mos) and while it's exciting and fun and funny, it's hard to lose my baby. Now sometimes I don't know if I'm going to get a sweet hug & kiss or if I'm going to be bitch slapped in the face. My sweet Lucy Bean.

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!