Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-25 - 4:48 p.m.

Email from Ted (step dad) "Troops, I just spoke to Damon and Jenn and here is what I was told. He currently is in room TN 624 in the Oncology department. He will be moved in the next 24-48 hours to the leukemia section as soon as a bed opens up.

He was admitted Monday afternoon and had about seven interviews already�nurses, care provider, resident, intern etc. I believe his doctor is Richard Larsen. Tuesday will be testing day including multiple blood tests to determine specifically what kind of A L L he has; bone marrow biopsy; kidney and liver blood test; heart test; cat scan; x-rays. He will have a minor surgical procedure to insert a port in his chest. The port will have three tubes: one for the chemo; one for blood out [for testing]; and one for blood in. He could be on chemo on Wednesday. One comment they made was how white Damon looked�Jenn said she never noticed and neither did I.

He has a diet: no spicy foods and no uncooked fruits or vegetables. The latter is because they cannot be sure that all of the germs, et al, have been cleansed. [OK now none of you will eat fresh fruits or vegetables ever again.] We may bring food to him and he even has access to a small common refrigerator. As Doug reminded me, if you do bring a snack or two, perhaps a little for the nursing staff would be a good idea to keep them happy to do things for Damon. And we all thought only policemen ate doughnuts.

There are four or five flavors [chemicals mixtures] of chemotherapy. He probably will receive the standard mixture for the first three to four weeks when he will remain in the hospital. After the first month, he will be released to go home. For the next 6-7 months he will receive his chemotherapy as an outpatient. Thereafter, he will be on pills and shots. The general total treatment time is 2 years.

Yes, he will lose his hair but it will grow back in due time. [We will accept him as our Michael Jordan.]

I told Jennifer and Damon that we will be available to her and for her while he is under treatment. Among other things, contact with both of them and helping out whether visiting, house and yard cleanup, store runs. I know we have to walk a delicate line of assistance and butting in so I told them I would offer myself something like a once or twice a week. I know Jenn may say no so we have to read her. I know our family is close and we will rally in this time of need.

God bless Damon, Jennifer and our family.

Love,

Dad/Ted"

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!