Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-24 - 1:01 p.m.

My second entry today. I'm obviously trying to ignore work more than I usually do. We were successful with the crane game at lunch today. We managed to pull out a pig, apparently some character from Shreck which is the theme of the week for the crane game. The Denny's hostess then proceeded to inform me that the pig that we pulled out of there "is the smart one.. you know.. the one that built the house". I tried not to look at her like she was being a weirdo and I'm hoping that this is some reference to the movie and not some reference to the historical 3 pigs story which would have been a very strange thing to tell me. Now I'm trying to remember the story of the 3 pigs and it's escaping me. Was there a smart one that built a house?

The man that I am married to gave me some advice over the weekend. He told me that I should start incorporating a seven second rule when speaking to people. He told me that I my bluntness often offends people and that I should really take a moment to think about what I'm going to say to someone before I say it. Of course my initial reaction was to be defensive but if I'm honest with myself I have to admit that he's right. What scares the shit out of me is that what he was saying about my personality reminds me of my fathers. And the thought of acting in the same way that drives me crazy about Dad makes me sad.. because I really don't want to be that type of person. Don't get me wrong, I love my dad but he can be pretty abrasive at times. I think I'll take my husbands advice and try the 7 second rule thing; although that will make for some pretty slow conversations and any attempts at being witty will be ill-timed and therefore unsuccessful.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!