Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-20 - 1:11 p.m.

It may seem minor but one of the things is disturbing to me is when someone says something to you and then you respond with something that doesn't make sense. Example: The Fed Ex guy just came to deliver a package and I signed for it. After doing so he said "have a nice day". My response was "your welcome". Obviously my response was something said out of habit to what I was expecting him to say to me which in most cases would have been "thank you". For whatever reason though it bothers me that my response was inappropriate. After getting back to my desk I wanted to chase him down, catch him at the elevator and correct my dastardly mistake. Granted it would have been more ridicuous to do that but the thought crossed my mind. Now that I'm thinking about this it seems like these types of occurences happen just as you are ending the conversation and one of people involved in the interaction is leaving. A more common flub for me is the.. "not real words response". This is more of a noise that somewhat resembles a series of words but it gets mangled before exiting your mouth. Example: Riding up in the elevator with someone and as they exit they say "have a nice day" and you reply.. "ya blay you goo too". I can be pretty sure that I am not the only one who has these types of experiences but never the less they always leave me feeling like I came to work with 2 different shoes on. I wish I could come up with a better analogy than that but it's the only thing that comes to mind. If I think of something better maybe I'll come back and edit this entry.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!