Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-01-12 - 10:28 a.m.

Every Wednesday we receive our local paper. There three things that I typically peruse immediately upon it's arrival.

1. The police report. There are usually the normal DUI's, Burglaries and Retail thefts. Sometimes the report is a little more interesting and there are indecent exposures, car jackings or even better someone who was beaten by a bag of frozen shrimp. I had to cut that one out - it was just too awesome. There was another one that I was also delighted to read which was about a Beauty Supply store that got held up and some dude stole $500 bucks and a case of "doo rags".
The other sections that I check out are the engagements/weddings, the lost and found and the real estate section.

A couple of weeks ago there was an article about a family who had been displaced by Hurricane Katrina and was now living in my town. (btw: which I am the unofficial mayor of). The article detailed a grandmother and her 8 yr old granddaughter with whom she had custody of. The granddaughter's father had been displaced to Texas and the little girl hadn't seen him since the storm and was missing him terribly. I wondered why the father didn't have custody of his daughter. In any event, I must have been PMS'ing that day because the article hit me hard. They article went on to say that neither the father or the grandmother could afford to fly to see one another. In that moment I decided that yes, indeed, the father and daughter would be seeing eachother very soon. I then thought, it was probably useless to try and do anything because surely someone else had read the article and had already offered to fly the dude in. I called the paper just to check. Suprisingly no one had offered. The reporter was the go-between and contacted the family.. Long story short we connected and I arranged for the father to fly in from San Antonio to see his daughter. He arrived last Saturday. He is leaving this Saturday. So I get a call from the reporter and he wants to do an article. I say sure, but at the same time I am a bit hesitant because the last thing I want would be to come off as the 'white woman who helped the poor black family'.. that isn't what this was about.. it isn't about me.. it was about getting that little girl and her father re-united. The reporter is wanting to arrange a photo gig and interviewed me over the phone. The XL coffee I just downed is making me feel slightly jittery about all of this.

WEIRD SMALLWORLD THING

I read Chicago Jo's diary.. Have been for a year or so. Not relegiously or anything - I pop in from time to time.
So in her last entry she has pictures of herself questioning long hair or short hair with photo samples of each.
I have never contacted her but I signed her guest book voicing my solicited opinion saying that I think she should grow
it a little longer, to her collar bone. 10 minutes later I go down to the lobby starbucks for a coffee. As I walk out of the elevator, a chick who I swear is Chicago Jo walks in. "no fucking way" I say to myself.. then I do the silent "um.. ah.. oh" and decide not to say anything because we have already passed eachother. When I get back up to my office I email her asking if she works in my building. Indeed she does, just one floor above me, for the one of the 'big 5' companies of which we are a joint venture of. The next day we meet for coffee and silently decide that her hair is just fine the way it is.

Pinkyneedstogetbacktoprentendingtowork..

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!