Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-21 - 9:52 a.m.

My mind is spinning this morning. This guy that I recently placed got canned from his job after being there 6 days. He had relocated from California to Michigan. They said "he wasn't coming up to speed fast enough". So that really sucks and now I need to follow up with him and I'm totally putting that off because I don't want to have that conversation. He sent me an Excel spreadsheet that detailed all of his relo costs. He included things like beef jerky $1.29 and Diet Soda $1.42.

Ok...............

The other thing that is on my mind is that I got Lucy into this new daycare situation where I have been on their waiting list for over a year. What I'm thinking about is how I will tell Lucy's regular babysitter. There are a couple of reasons besides getting Lucy into this new place that have added up over the past 6 months. Linda (babysitter) came down with some "hand ailment" at the beginning of June. She said the Dr. told her not to lift anything for 10 weeks. Here is the interesting part... I met Linda at the pool where she is a permanent fixture babypool side. She basically glues herself to a chair and frys herself every day. (Note: She's 40 and looks like she's 55). It worked out for the summer because she found someone for me who has been great. A school teacher who is off for the summer and comes to our house every day. Here's the deal though, I feel like Linda just wanted to take the summer off so that she could go to the pool and get more wrinkled. Certainly Lucy likes the pool but not for 4 hours and right in the middle of her nap time. She is also an active kid that would require Linda getting off of her fat ass. She has another kid that she takes care of who sleeps in the stroller pool side. This doesn't work for me. My baby needs a crib, cool and quiet where she can get in her power nap. So, that didn't sit well. Then last week Lucy and I see Linda at the pool and I ask if she's looking forward to having Lucy back at the end of August. Her response.. "You know.. I really haven't had enough time for myself yet". This put me over the edge.. At least lie to me woman! At that point I knew I needed to get her out.

I know that neither of these things are big worries but they are occupying my mind right now.

I overheard a funny conversation this morning when I went down to the caffeteria to get my Crystal Light...

woman: You know about Curly don't you.

dude: Yeah, he's no choir boy

woman: Your not kidding, Curly got himself locked up.

I guess the funny part was that these two people didn't look like they should be having a conversation about some guy named "Curly" getting "locked up". The chick was yoru typical middle aged 'office support' type with a huge ass, a bad haircut, bad shoes and her office ID hanging from her neck. The guy was a mid 30's balding tech support guy with his pants hiked up and a "man toe". Just an amusing little exchange I got to witness this morning..

Ok, I need to get motivated and get some shit done around here... I'm hoping that more amusing things happen today because I'm feeling quite melancholy right now.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!