Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-24 - 9:08 a.m.

Friday night we got quite drinky with Kathleen, Miles, Chris and Blanca. The wine and sillyness were flowing - it was good times.

I did a lot of gardening this weekend. I've only had my own yard for about 5 years and gardening is definitely a learning experience. I had to fuck up a lot to even start to figure it out. It's sort of like painting.. the prep work takes a lot longer than getting the paint up on the walls. Thinking back it I used to buy plants and it was almost a race to see how quickly I could get it into the ground, this frantic chiseling away at rock hard soil making a hole only big enough to get the poor thing into it. So anyway, on Sat. Kathleen and I worked on the front of her house and then on Sunday I dug up and created a new bed in the back yard where I planted some Hosta's a few day lillies and some impatiens in a little shady area. I felt great afterwards despite the fact that my hands are looking nasty.

Later in the afternoon on Sunday we took the little one to her buddy Jack's first birthday party. They had it at "My Gym" which is great b/c they let you drink there. LB ran around like a maniac and I must say she looked scrumcious in her new Lilly Pulitzer dress. She still has some serious kankles but she is starting to thin out a bit as she becomes more of a full on toddler.

On a more solemn note step brother found out on Friday that he has Leukemia (some variation called ALL), need to research today. Calling him SB for clarification purposes. Mom married his dad when I was in my late 20's so don't really feel connected in a sibling sense but certainly care enough to be quite sad about the whole thing. He was just married a month ago and they were already on the babytrail when he found out. Still don't know much of anything yet, he's seeing a Dr. this week. Mom & T have historically had a Memorial Day party and I'm sort of dreading it this year. I don't really know what to say to someone who just found out that they might be dying soon. It's always been a drinky fun thing with a bunch of little ones running around and a parade that rolls down their street. I think it will be a little different this year.

I ate a very large blueberry muffin this morning on my way into work. It accomanied my 20oz Vanilla Nut coffee quite well. White Hen coffee is somewhat under rated but not nearly as under rated as Dunkin Donuts. Why is it, that if something is called a 'muffin' it makes you feel less guilty b/c it's perceived heathier than a big ass piece of cake?! It's the same fucking thing, but muffin sounds so nice and innocent. It's like "eat me little one, I'm a nice little muffin" while cake screams "take me! the big corner piece you fat ass!"

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!